Archive for January 9th, 2009
In my previous post, Marhault asked:
Howcome they get charged +3, +2, +1 and not +1, +2, +3? The latter would seem to incent the player to hold off for longer when charging. Is that not desirable in this case?
That is, in fact, a fantastic question.
The reason I went the way I did (and, incidently, you’re free to charge in any order) is because I think this presents more choices than the 1-2-3 method. With that method, you have to check the +1 box of one of your traits on the first turn, so that’s prescribed. On your next turn, you have the following choices:
- Discharge your +1 box to roll four Storm dice rather than three.
- Charge your +2 box and roll three Storm dice this turn.
- Charge another trait’s +1 box.
- The game-breaking move called “Grandstanding,” which doesn’t affect your charging at all (and can potentially kill you if its too early in the game, should you not have enough dice and roll poorly).
In many ways, there’s really only one option: Charge your +2 box on the same trait. After all, you can either roll 4 dice right now, 3 next turn, and then 5…or you can check and roll 6 on the following turn. You get the most bang for your buck that way. Of course, from there it might have an interesting choice between “Do I check the +3, or do I cash out now?” Something certainly answered by tempo.
In the current setup, with the diminishing returns, the choice is initially more interesting: on the second turn, you could:
- Discharge that +3 for 6 Storm dice.
- Charge your +2 box, so you can roll 8 next turn.
- Charge another +3 trait, so you can have two 6-dice turns in a row.
- And, of course, Grandstanding.
Much, much more interesting to start, and with enough little options the game will sing. But, in thinking about your question, I did have to wonder about the value of the +1 box. Sure, it’s tempting to go from the +3 box to the +2 box so you have one turn with a lot of dice, but checking the +1 is silly — you might as well charge your other trait or something like that. So, I revised the +1 box rule — if you charge the +1 box, when you discharge it you also get a sweet, sweet point of Mythic Power. So, really, it’s: [+3], [+2], [+1/1MP], chargeable in whatever order you desire.
So, thank you Marhault for questioning me on this. I hope this new idea will pan out.